Finix vs. Elavon: Choosing the right payment processor | Finix

Finix vs. Elavon: How they compare

Finix combines payment processing, reporting, and payment operations in one platform. Unlike Elavon's negotiated pricing model, businesses can see how costs are structured and maintain greater control as they grow.

Finix and Elavon pricing compared

Finix Elavon
Pricing model Subscription from $99/mo or interchange-plus custom Interchange-plus or tiered pricing — negotiated per merchant; no public rate card
In-person 0% markup on interchange + $0.08/transaction Interchange + markup ranging from 0.07% + $0.25 to 0.35% + $0.48 depending on negotiation; authorization fee $0.20–$0.25
Online payments Interchange + 0% + $0.15/transaction Interchange + markup; rate negotiated — not publicly published
Interchange optimization Full Level 2 & 3 support (included) Commercial Card Optimization Program available; implementation complexity varies
Virtual terminal Included Available; included in gateway package
Payment links Included Pay by Link available via Elavon Payment Gateway
ACH transactions $0.50 flat Available through Elavon payment solutions; pricing requires quote
ACH validation $0.50 flat ACH verification options available; implementation and pricing vary
Instant payouts 1% Funding timelines vary by account and agreement
Fraud detection Included (machine learning) Included; fraud tools vary by gateway configuration
Support fees Included, with a dedicated account manager 24/7 customer support available; account management varies by agreement
Monthly service fee None $9.95–$29.95/month (charged regardless of transaction volume)
Monthly billing fee None 0.06%–0.08% of total monthly processing volume (avoidable by switching to daily billing)
Non-qualified volume fee None Up to 0.55% on transactions Elavon deems non-qualified — applied at Elavon's discretion
Early termination fee No long-term contracts $295–$495 if contract is exited early

Quick recap of Direct Merchant Pricing Comparison

Elavon does not publish standard pricing. Rates are negotiated, with third-party research indicating markups from 0.07% + $0.25 to 0.35% + $0.48 per transaction. Additional monthly, volume-based, and non-qualified fees may apply. Finix publishes pricing upfront, charges no monthly fees beyond its subscription, and does not apply non-qualified surcharges, making costs easier to forecast.

Platform and marketplace features compared

Finix Elavon
Pricing models Flat-rate or dynamic, fully configurable per merchant Custom pricing; no publicly documented platform pricing model
Interchange fee optimization Full Level 2 & 3 support Commercial Card Optimization Program available
Merchant payout $0.25/payout Pricing available through custom quote
White-labeling No additional cost White-label capabilities not publicly documented
ACH transaction cost $0.50 flat Pricing not publicly disclosed
ACH validation $0.50 Pricing not publicly disclosed
Virtual terminal fee Included Included via gateway
Payment links fee Included Pay by Link included in gateway package
Instant payouts 1% Funding options vary by agreement
Machine learning and fraud detection Included Included; configuration varies
Support fees Included, with a dedicated account manager 24/7 customer support available; account management varies by agreement
Technology fees None Additional service and billing fees may apply

Pricing as of June 2026. Applies to U.S.-based businesses. Subject to change.

Quick recap of Platform & Marketplace Pricing Comparison

Elavon does not publicly document a platform or marketplace offering comparable to Finix's. Its focus is direct merchant acquiring rather than embedded payments. Businesses looking to add payments to a software platform or marketplace may find Finix's published platform pricing, configurable payouts, and white-label capabilities a more straightforward fit than Elavon's negotiated model.

What growing businesses should know

Finix

Elavon

Integration and customization options

Finix

Elavon

Frequently asked questions

What are the main differences between Finix and Elavon?

The clearest differences are pricing transparency and contract structure. Elavon negotiates pricing individually and does not publish a rate card — the costs you pay depend on your deal, and statements can include multiple additional fees including monthly service charges, a monthly billing fee, and a discretionary non-qualified volume surcharge. Finix publishes its pricing upfront, charges no monthly fees beyond its subscription, and does not require long-term contracts or charge early termination fees.

Does Elavon charge monthly fees on top of processing rates?

Yes. Elavon typically charges a monthly service fee of $9.95–$29.95 regardless of transaction volume, plus a monthly billing fee of up to 0.08% of total processing volume. Merchants who switch to daily billing can avoid the billing fee, but the service fee remains. Elavon also applies a non-qualified volume fee of up to 0.55% on transactions it deems unqualified — a charge that can appear even for merchants on interchange-plus pricing. Finix does not charge monthly service fees, billing fees, or non-qualified surcharges.

What happens if I need to exit an Elavon contract early?

Elavon has historically included early termination fees of $295–$495 in merchant contracts, although current contracts may vary. Merchants should request a full fee schedule in writing — including termination terms — before signing. Finix does not require long-term contracts and does not charge early termination fees, which means businesses retain flexibility as their needs change.

Is Elavon a good fit for software platforms or marketplaces?

Elavon is primarily a direct merchant acquirer built around industries like retail, hospitality, restaurants, and healthcare. It does not publish a dedicated platform or marketplace payment offering with configurable sub-merchant onboarding, payout structures, or white-labeling terms. Businesses building payment functionality into their own platform will find Finix's published platform pricing and documented tools a more direct fit.

How do Finix and Elavon compare on pricing transparency?

Finix publishes its per-transaction fees, subscription pricing, and platform costs — merchants can model their expected costs before they sign up. Elavon's pricing is negotiated and not publicly available. Third-party research shows effective markups ranging from 0.07% + $0.25 to 0.35% + $0.48 per transaction, but the actual rate depends on the deal. For businesses that want predictable, auditable payment costs, Finix's transparent model removes the guesswork.

Can I migrate from Elavon to Finix without disrupting my customers?

Yes. Finix supports full card data portability, meaning tokenized card data can be migrated without requiring customers to re-enter their payment details. Subscriptions and stored payment methods transfer cleanly. Finix's team walks you through the migration process — talk to our team to understand the specific steps for your setup.