Finix vs. Clover: Which payment platform fits your business? | Finix
Finix vs. Clover: How they compare
Finix helps businesses understand, manage, and optimize payment costs as they grow. Clover is purpose-built for in-person commerce, but hardware lock-in, multi-year contracts, and flat-rate pricing can limit flexibility over time.
Finix and Clover pricing compared
| Finix | Clover | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Subscription from $99/mo or interchange-plus custom | Flat-rate by default; interchange-plus available to merchants processing $50K+/month with 12+ months of Clover history only |
| In-person | 0% markup on interchange + $0.08/transaction | 2.3%–2.6% + $0.10/transaction (flat rate, direct from Clover.com); rates vary significantly by reseller |
| Online payments | Interchange + 0% + $0.15/transaction | 3.5% + $0.10/transaction (keyed/online, direct); reseller rates vary |
| Interchange optimization | Full Level 2 & 3 support | No publicly documented L2/L3 optimization tools; flat-rate pricing applies the same rate regardless of card type |
| Virtual terminal | Included | Available via Clover app ($14.95/month plan); included in some software tiers |
| Payment links | Included | Available via Clover Online or app integrations; included in some plans |
| ACH transactions | $0.50 flat | Supported via TeleCheck ACH integration; pricing not publicly disclosed |
| ACH validation | $0.50 flat | ACH verification options available; pricing not publicly disclosed |
| Instant payouts | 1% | Funding options vary by account configuration |
| Fraud detection | Included (machine learning) | Included; scope varies by plan and reseller configuration |
| Support fees | Included, with a dedicated account manager | Support and account management vary by purchase channel and plan |
| Monthly software fee | None | $14.95–$310+/month depending on plan and hardware bundle |
| Hardware cost | No proprietary hardware required | $500–$1,800+ per device; financing and leasing options vary by reseller |
| Contract term | No long-term contracts | Typically 36-month agreement; early termination fees of $295–$595 are common |
| Chargeback fee | Standard | $20–$50 per dispute |
Quick recap of Direct Merchant Pricing Comparison
Clover's flat-rate pricing applies the same fee regardless of card type, which can increase costs for merchants with a debit-heavy or commercial card mix. Finix offers interchange-plus pricing from day one with no volume minimum. Clover reserves interchange-plus pricing for merchants processing $50,000+/month with 12 months of Clover history, while software fees and long-term commitments may also apply.
Platform and marketplace features compared
| Finix | Clover | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing models | Flat-rate or dynamic, fully configurable per merchant | Not applicable. Clover does not offer a platform or marketplace payment tier |
| Interchange fee optimization | Full Level 2 & 3 support | Not available for platform use cases |
| Merchant payout | $0.25/payout | Not supported. Clover is a direct merchant processor, not a platform payments enabler |
| White-labeling | No additional cost | Not available |
| Sub-merchant onboarding | Supported | Not supported |
| ACH transaction cost | $0.50 flat | Not applicable for platform use |
| Split payments | Supported | Not supported |
| Instant payouts to sub-merchants | 1% | Not supported |
| Machine learning and fraud detection | Included | Not applicable for platform use |
| Support fees | Included, with a dedicated account manager | Not applicable for platform use |
| Technology fees | None | Monthly software fees + hardware costs apply to each merchant location |
Pricing as of June 2026. Applies to U.S.-based businesses. Subject to change. Clover rates vary significantly by reseller — verify all figures in writing before signing.
Quick recap of Platform & Marketplace Pricing Comparison
Clover is designed for direct merchants, not software platforms or marketplaces. Businesses that need to onboard sub-merchants, split payments, manage payouts to multiple parties, or offer branded payment experiences will need a different solution. Finix is built for those use cases, with published pricing, configurable payouts, and white-label capabilities included at no additional cost.
Frequently asked questions
What are the main differences between Finix and Clover? Clover is a point-of-sale system built for in-person commerce such as restaurants, retail, and service businesses. Finix is a payment platform that supports online, in-person, and omnichannel payments, as well as platform and marketplace payment use cases. The other significant differences are pricing structure and contract terms. Clover defaults to flat-rate pricing with multi-year commitments and proprietary hardware lock-in. Finix uses interchange-plus pricing from day one with no long-term contracts.
Does Clover offer interchange-plus pricing? Yes, but with significant restrictions. Clover's interchange-plus pricing is available only to merchants processing at least $50,000 per month with a minimum of 12 months of prior Clover processing history. New accounts and lower-volume merchants are on flat-rate pricing by default. Finix offers interchange-plus pricing to all merchants regardless of volume or tenure, with the processor markup and interchange cost shown separately on every transaction.
Can Clover support platform or marketplace payments? No. Clover is a direct merchant processing system, not a platform payments enabler. It does not support sub-merchant onboarding, split payments, configurable payouts to multiple parties, or white-labeled payment experiences under a third-party brand. Businesses building payment functionality into their own software product or marketplace need a platform designed for that use case — Finix is built for exactly that, with published pricing and documented tooling.
Why do two businesses with the same Clover hardware pay different rates? Clover is sold through multiple channels: directly from Clover.com, through banks, and through independent resellers. Each channel sets its own processing rates, monthly fees, and contract terms for the same hardware. A merchant who bought a Clover Station from their bank may be paying 2.9% flat, while a neighbor who bought through a local reseller might be on interchange-plus at 0.15% markup. This variability makes it difficult to compare Clover costs without reviewing the specific agreement and is one reason merchants are often surprised by their actual monthly bill.